Writings

Watching

Much time I now spend watching

watching as others pass by living their lives.

I watch not for care of wanting to know them

or even to learn from what they say or do.

 

I simply watch and listen

I hear the honesty behind the false echoes

the intolerance of their understanding

the hatred behind each warm embrace

the intricacies of their simple actions.

 

I simply listen and recall

I remember the laughter of the soul

the hurt of each trace of humanity

the feelings our hearts can’t explain

the hope our minds continue to hold on to.

 

Much time I now spend watching

watching as others pass by

forwarding their distraught,

even as the pictures flow before my mind’s eye

and the dreams before my eye’s gaze

 

I simply recall and wonder

I envision the burn of stagnation

the pain of constant confusion

the puncture as deception pierces the skin

the weight of longing, fear, death.

 

I simply wonder and weep

I mourn all our days passed

the wasted attempts at searching

the failure to fill the ever-growing void

the depth of lies imbedded

 

But such is all that I have: time

and even as the people go about their daily lives

all I do is watch

for I know that I know that I know

that they miss Him they’re yet to know

 

02/07/2016

 

 

Leave a Reply

